Skip to main content

main content begins

Dunlap Advisory Committee

The Dunlap Institute for Astronomy & Astrophysics has as its mission astronomical instrumentation, astrophysical observations and science outreach. This mission is complemented by activity in the Department of Astronomy & Astrophysics and the Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics.

The Dunlap Institute for Astronomy & Astrophysics Advisory Committee acts as a consultative body to the Director:

  • To provide strategic advice on the research, educational and outreach missions of the Institute.
  • To identify opportunities for partnership and collaborations with the Institute.
  • To promote the Institute’s interests to external constituencies.
  • To increase the profile of the Institute and enhance its financial standing.


Prof. Roger Davies, University of Oxford (Chair) (2019-2021)

Prof. Josh Peek, Space Telescope Science Institute (Chair-Elect) (2019-2023)

Prof. Bruce Macintosh, Stanford University (2019-2022)

Dr. Eugenia Duodu, Visions of Science (2019-2022)

Prof. Maura McLaughlin, West Virginia University (2019-2023)

Prof. Sara Ellison, University of Victoria (2020-2023)

Dr. Tracy Clarke, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory (2020-2023)

Dr. Rachel Ward-Maxwell, Ontario Science Centre (2020-2023)

Prof. Vince Tropepe, Incoming Vice-Dean, Research, Faculty of Arts & Science

David Dunlap, Descendant of Jessie Donalda Dunlap

John Dunlap, Descendant of Jessie Donalda Dunlap

Prof. Bryan Gaensler, Director, Dunlap Institute

Alice Chow, Business and Financial Manager, Dunlap Institute

Kim Hunt-Rao, Executive Director, Office of Advancement, Faculty of Arts and Science, University of Toronto